Friday, February 6, 2009

Hill Named to Wooden Award Midseason List

As every Arizona fan knows, Jordan Hill has been the backbone of this squad all season. He has put up impressive numbers game in and game out, and is finally getting some of his recognition that he deserves. Hill is averaging 18 points, 11.7 rebounds and 2.1 blocks per game. He leads the Pac-10 in double-doubles with 14 while maintain a team high .550 field goal percentage.

I wasn’t 100% sold on him having a huge year coming into this season, but he has proven himself to anyone with an ounce of doubt. Proclaimed as the “Best Big Man in the West” by the Bear Down’s Mr. Randle “el” he has also caught the eye of the national media. Hill has become one of nine players to be named to the midseason who were not listed for preseason considerations.

The Wooden Award Mid Season List looks like this:

A.J. Abrams 5-11 G Sr. Texas
Jeff Adrien 6-7 F Sr. Connecticut
DeJuan Blair 6-7 F So. Pittsburgh
Jon Brockman 6-7 F Sr. Washington
Nick Calathes 6-6 G/F So. Florida
Sherron Collins 5-11G Jr. Kansas
Darren Collison6-0 G Sr. UCLA
Stephen Curry 6-3 G Jr. Davidson
Jonny Flynn 6-0 G So. Syracuse
Taj Gibson 6-9 F Jr. USC
Blake Griffin 6-10 F So. Oklahoma
Tyler Hansbrough 6-9 F Sr. North Carolina
Luke Harangody 6-8 F Jr. Notre Dame
James Harden 6-4 G So. Arizona State
Manny Harris 6-5 G So. Michigan
Gerald Henderson 6-4 G/F Jr. Duke
Jordan Hill 6-10 F Jr. Arizona
Matt Howard 6-7 F So. Butler
Ty Lawson 5-11 G Jr. North Carolina
Kalin Lucas 6-0 F So. Michigan State
Wesley Matthews 6-5 G Sr. Marquette
Jerel McNeal 6-3 G Sr. Marquette
Jodie Meeks 6-4 G Jr. Kentucky
Greg Monroe 6-11 C Fr. Georgetown
Kyle Singler 6-8 F So. Duke
Tyler Smith 6-7 F Jr. Tennessee
Jeff Teague 6-2 G So. Wake Forest
Hasheem Thabeet 7-3 C Jr. Connecticut
Terrence Williams 6-6```F ```Sr. Louisville
Sam Young 6-6 F Jr. Pittsburgh

Previous Winners Include:
2008 - Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina
2007 - Kevin Durant, Texas
2006 - J. J. Redick, Duke
2005 - Andrew Bogut, Utah
2004 - Jameer Nelson, Saint Joseph's
2003 - T. J. Ford, Texas
2002 - Jason Williams, Duke
2001 - Shane Battier, Duke
2000 - Kenyon Martin, Cincinnati

Hopefully, Arizona can keep up this momentum and Hill will see himself as a finalist at the end of the season.

4Real Out...